You are here


USC Viterbi Dean Unveils China Strategy

March 10, 2005

USC's Viterbi School of Engineering agrees to collaborate in continuing and distance education with Tsinghua University, known as the MIT of China.

Parents’ unhealthy lifestyles trigger numerous detrimental effects on children

February 11, 2005

Findings suggest the important influence of parental smoking on the behavioral choices of Chinese adolescents.

NIH awards USC $8.7 million to study tobacco use in China

January 28, 2005

C. Anderson Johnson of the Institute for Health Promotion and Disease Prevention Research will head the study.

Lilia Huiying Li (June 14, 1932–November 7, 2004)

November 17, 2004

Journalist Lilia Huiying Li promoted peace and friendship between China and the U.S. Well known in the diplomatic corps, she was honored for her efforts by the East Asian Studies Center, where she served as a fellow since 1974.

China Honors Professor’s Elder Efforts

October 12, 2004

USC researcher Iris Chi – a 'force in the development of social work in China' – earns a coveted award for her work with older adults in Hong Kong.

USC Teams With Far East Filmmakers

July 9, 2004

As a new partner of the City University of Hong Kong and the Beijing Film Academy, the USC School of Cinema-TV will train students in creative fields such as production, animation and Web design.

SARS is cause for concern, not panic

May 16, 2003

Infectious disease expert Fred Sattler and microbiologist Michael M.C. Lai, speak to students and faculty members on SARS.

2008 Beijing Organizing Committee Visits USC

January 20, 2003

Representatives from the organizing committee for the 2008 Olympic Games visited USC to tour university facilities.

Congressional-Executive Commission on China, “Roundtable – China’s Criminal Justice System,” July 26, 2002

July 26, 2002

The Congressional-Executive Commission on China was created by Congress in October 2000 with the legislative mandate to monitor human rights and the development of the rule of law in China, and to submit an annual report to the President and the Congress. The Commission consists of nine Senators, nine Members of the House of Representatives, and five senior Administration officials appointed by the President.