United Nations General Assembly Resolution 2758

Restoration of the lawful rights of the People's Republic of China in the United Nations

The General Assembly,

Recalling the principles of the Charter of the United Nations,

Considering that the restoration of the lawful rights of the People's Republic of China is essential both for the protection of the Charter of the United Nations and for the cause that the United Nations must serve under the Charter,

Recognizing that the representatives of the Government of the People's Republic of China are the only lawful representatives of China to the United Nations and that the People's Republic of China is one of the five permanent members of the Security Council,

Decides to restore all its rights to the People's Republic of China and to recognize the representatives of its Government as the only legitimate representatives of China to the United Nations, and to expel forthwith the representatives of Chiang Kai-shek from the place which they unlawfully occupy at the United Nations and in all the organizations related to it.

1976th plenary meeting, 25 October 1971 The vote: For - 76, Against - 35, Abstain - 17, Absent - 3

Guinea

For

Afghanistan Albania Algeria Austria Belgium Bhutan Botswana Bulgaria Burma Burundi **Byelorussian SSR** Cameroon Canada Ceylon Chile Cuba Czechoslovakia Denmark Ecuador Egypt **Equatorial Guinea** Ethiopia Finland France Ghana

Guyana Hungary Iraq Ireland Israel Italy Kenya Kuwait Laos Libyan Arab Republic Malaysia Mali Mauritania Mexico Mongolia Morocco Nepal Netherlands Nigeria Norway Pakistan People's Democratic **Republic of Yemen** People's Republic of Congo

Against

Australia Bolivia Brazil Central African Republic Chad Democratic Republic of Congo Costa Rica Dahomey Dominican Republic El Salvador Gabon Gambia Guatemala Haiti Honduras Ivory Coast Japan Khmer Republic Lesotho Liberia Madagascar Malawi Malta

Peru Poland Portugal Romania Rwanda Senegal Sierra Leone Singapore Somalia Sudan Sweden Syrian Arab Republic Togo Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Uganda Ukranian SSR Union of Soviet Socialist Republics United Kingdom United Republic of Tanzania Yemen Yugoslavia Zambia

New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Paraguay Philippines Saudi Arabia South Africa Swaziland United States Upper Volta Uruguay Venezuela

Abstain

Argentina	Jordan
Bahrain	Lebanon
Barbados	Luxembourg
Columbia	Mauritius
Cyprus	Panama
Fiji	Qatar
Greece	Spain
Indonesia	Thailand
Jamaica	

Absent

China Maldives Oman